The right to be forgotten FAQs
You may receive a request from a customer to delete their account, which you will need to action as they have the 'right to be forgotten'. To action such a request you will need to anonymise a customers account, as we do not offer the ability to fully delete it, which will remove their personal details.
How do I anonymise a customer?
To anonymise a customers account do the following:-
- First open the customer account that you would like to anonymise;
- To find out how to access a customers account see How do I find a customer?.
- Scroll to the bottom of the screen and tap or click Anonymise this customer;
- You will receive a pop-up dialog box asking you to confirm this action, tap or click OK.
An e-mail will be sent to the customer to inform them that their account has been anonymised. A copy of this will be saved in Communications tab, that will be attached to the anonymised account.
This process cannot be undone and you will not be able to reactivate or amend the account in anyway once anonymisation has been requested.
What information is altered when anonymising a customer?
The following information is affected when anonymising a customer account:-
- Main account:-
- First name - updated to Anonymised;
- Last (family) name - set to blank;
- Date of birth - updated to 01-01-0001;
- E-mail address - updated to X-Anonymised (where X is the unique account number);
- Telephone number - updated to Anonymised;
- Password - set to blank;
- Addresses - all address book entries are deleted;
- Push Notification Registrations - updated to invalid as of the date the anonymisation took place.
- Communications - email address updated to X-Anonymised (where X is the unique account number).
- Email address - updated to X-Anonymised (where X is the unique account number);
- Telephone number - updated to Anonymised.
What information is retained when anonymising a customer account?
The following information is retained when anonymising a customer account:-
- Orders - these will not be removed and will only have the customer email address and telephone number anonymised;
- Paypal payments - these will not be removed or anonymised;
- Stripe payments - these will not be removed or anonymised;
- Communications - the body of communications will remain unaltered and may contain personal information;
- Analytic records - these will contain the customers IP address and will not be removed or anonymised.
Will a customer still be able to log in to their online account after it has been anonymised?
No. Once the account has been anonymised they will no longer be able to log in as the account will no longer exist with their email address and password. The customer will have to create a new account should they wish to use you again in the future.
If a customer creates a new account will they be able to see past orders or details?
No. A new account is just that, new. Although previous orders and payment records are retained, as they would have been partially anonymised it is not possible to link them to an new account.